No Beef, Just Beer

12 Dec

A recent trip to my local Kroger’s made me seriously evaluate the state of the economy.  I was looking for steak, a couple of nice pieces of red meat to celebrate the end of finals.  It’s a simple request, right?  The only selection suitable was ribeye and thin cut New York strip.  No filet mignon, not even sirloin.  I swear I’ve bought sirloin steak from Kroger on other occasions before.  Was it just the selection on that particular day or is the selection truly a reflection of what shoppers are buying these days?

Better news awaited in the beer section.  I just needed something cheap for a chili recipe, but this caught my eye:

Fireman’s #4 Blonde Ale from Real Ale Brewing Company in Blanco, Texas.  I usually have to go to Central Market to get my craft brews, so I was shocked to see this Texas brew at Kroger.  Fireman’s #4 is a light bodied crisp brew with citrusy aroma.  Not too terribly complex, but a solid everyday ale, and definitely a good find for a Kroger trip.

Status of the economy: Not so good for beef, looking up for beer.

8 Responses to “No Beef, Just Beer”

  1. foodczar 12/12/2008 at 8:48 am #

    Thanks, Donna! I’ll have to look for some in my neighborhood Kroger. We need to support Texas wines and brews!!

  2. Margie 12/14/2008 at 10:34 am #

    I’m shocked about the steak thing. Surely it hasn’t come to that!

  3. Hayley 12/15/2008 at 1:11 pm #

    T-bones were on sale at HEB this weekend for like $4 a lb. I’m not a price/lb watcher on meat, but I’m assured by my beef expert father that this was an excellent deal. So he bought us some!

  4. adkim 12/15/2008 at 5:04 pm #

    @hayley,

    Do you mean Central Market or did DFW get a HEB w/o me hearing about it? A T-Bone for $4?! Must clear room in the freezer tonight.

  5. diynovice 12/15/2008 at 5:47 pm #

    I’m sure she is talking about Houston. The only HEB in the DFW area is the Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD 🙂 And I don’t think anyone wants to buy T-Bones from them!

  6. foodczar 12/16/2008 at 5:21 pm #

    Guys, Heather Butt has informed me that HEB is indeed looking

  7. foodczar 12/16/2008 at 5:25 pm #

    to put a non-Central-Market HEB in the Dallas area. She is the great-granddaughter of HEB founder Howard Edward Butt.

  8. Hayley 12/18/2008 at 8:08 pm #

    Yeah, Houston…sorry to get you all excited. 🙂

Leave a Reply

