Los Cucos Mexican Cafe Coming to Plano

7 Oct

Oh how I have missed you, my deep fried stuffed avocado!  My college guilty pleasure, regional chain Los Cucos, is opening its first DFW location at Park Blvd and Dallas North Tollway in Plano (1900 Dallas Pkwy) the third week of October.  The Cabrera brothers opened their first Los Cucos in Houston in 1991, and have expanded the chain to 14 locations throughout the state.  Greasy quesadillas with homemade tortillas, green sauce, and cheap margaritas here I come!

21 Responses to “Los Cucos Mexican Cafe Coming to Plano”

  1. FatCap 10/07/2008 at 8:56 pm #

    Still counting on that metabolism being as revved as it was in college are we? The FatCap wants to know…

  2. donnaaries 10/07/2008 at 10:45 pm #

    Oh I wish, I’ll just have to work out twice as hard to rid those calories.

  3. foodczar 10/08/2008 at 9:14 am #

    Donna, I’m sorry. I meant to email you that I had seen the “coming soon” sign on the building a couple of weeks ago. Question: Isn’t it at Park and the Tollway, not Parker?

  4. donnaaries 10/08/2008 at 9:22 am #

    You’re right, Czar, I always get those two streets mixed up. It’s been corrected.

  5. Brian 10/09/2008 at 1:13 am #

    Man this place sounds awesome, but Plano is just so far!

  6. FatCap 10/09/2008 at 10:01 am #

  7. Pat 10/23/2008 at 12:09 pm #

    When will you oficially open? what open house specials will you offer? etc…

  8. luniz 10/23/2008 at 12:25 pm #

    ooo i’m also curious to know when donna will officially open. will she be byob?

  9. donnaaries 10/23/2008 at 2:20 pm #

    Pat, you can reach Los Cucos reps at 972-735-0883

    luniz, Casa de Donna doesn’t charge a corkage fee for byob. However, reserving a glass or two of wine for the host is suggested.

  10. FatCap 10/24/2008 at 8:20 am #

    “reserving a glass or two of wine for the host” ??

    Are you giving discounts now (for me it was “reserve a bottle or two”) when I attended the “soft opening” of Casa de Donna, although I distinctly remember it serving Shanghai cuisine, at the time?

    Or is that 12-step finally working?

  11. donnaaries 10/25/2008 at 11:19 pm #

    Failed on the 2nd step, went to Los Cucos today and had a margarita.

    Los Cucos officially opened its doors last night. Service at dinner tonight was extremely slow and disorganized. I’d give it a couple more weeks before attempting to return (especially if I’m in a hurry). The basics of the food was about what I remembered it to be, though with missing details that are hopefully just opening jitters. My deep fried avocado was overfried and the chicken tortilla soup could’ve used a bit more simmering and flavor.

  12. Unimpressed 10/26/2008 at 8:13 pm #

    We ate at Los Cucos this evening for the first time. We were sat in the back away from the crowds but also away from service. We had a waitress and drinks before we had chips and salsa. To be honest, the salsa was very good and gave me a better impression than the service. That was about the last GOOD impression I got for the evening. The food was greasy, bland, and overall a big disappointment. It is a shame because I was really hoping to see someone give Mi Cocina a run for their money. Los Cucos has great salsa and that is about it! I hope the next restaurant that opens in that space in 3 mos. will be better.

  13. Susan 11/07/2008 at 4:01 pm #

    Sorry you had a bad time there. However I DISAGREE with you. I have eaten there 8 or more time since it opened (I have to try so many things), if you order anything with cheese in it, it WILL be greasy. But that is just the nature of REAL cheese. One of my most favorite dish is Pollo Ixtapa… Chicken breast sautéed in wine, onions, garlic, tomatoes, mushrooms and more topped with cheese (or you could leave the cheese off)….yuuuummmmm!!!!
    I want to try the grill dishes that come out on that flat grill that they put in the middle of the table… wow does that look good.
    Did you know that they have $2.00 Ritas and $1.00 Beer on Monday & Tuesday??? What better way to start the week, or watch the game on TV.

  14. donnaaries 11/07/2008 at 4:50 pm #

    Susan,

    Your comment, particularly the completely unrealistic enthusiasm towards the happy hour schedule, leads me to suspect that you are affiliated with Los Cucos.

    And since you didn’t bother to leave a valid email address with your comment, and instead just made up an invalid gmail account, that further strengthens my suspicion.

    I am disappointed that Los Cucos employees/management would resort to such acts of shilling, as I had long been a fan of your establishment. Even though I did not have a pleasant initial experience at your Plano location, I was by all means going to give it another chance for old time’s sake.

    You won’t generate more business by spamming local food blogs and forums. Do it by improving the quality of the food you’re serving and the service.

  15. FatCap 11/08/2008 at 5:42 am #

    Speaking of “spam”, shilling turns me off, especially if it’s amateurish; to wit “Did you know…yadayada” and ÿummmm!”

    Pathetic.

    …I was gonna try this place, but I think I’ll just go for a musubi at the new 2nd L&L location, the kind of Spam I like.

  16. Susan 11/08/2008 at 10:37 pm #

    I am not an employee – just a customer who thinks their food is good and has a good price with it. I like to get a lot for my money and I find that works here for me. My email address is 113362@gmail. I don’t know why my email won’t show up. I have never posted here before. Hope that helps you.

    Sure didn’t want to offend anyone. Sorry I shared my thoughts.

    By the way – last night I went there again and tried something form the “Healthy” page. Yummmm again!!!

  17. foodczar 11/09/2008 at 10:25 am #

    Donna, my wife and myself dined at Los Cucos last night. We both had mixed plates; she had the El Gringo and I had the El Rey. Both were quite delicious, with the Central Texas, pure Tex-Mex quality that I know you really appreciate from their other locations. Luckily, the only service “issue” we experienced was that we had to remind the waiter to bring chips and salsa; otherwise service was very good. The place was packed, but the promised twenty minute wait was only seven minutes. I hope you experience similar success with your next visit, as we need an excellent, Central-Texas-style Tex-Mex option here in Dallas, particularly at that location.

  18. David 12/11/2008 at 12:43 pm #

    My girlfriend and I ate at Cuco’s last night and we were not impressed. The food is too greasy, and my girlfriend got sick from it. I had to leave the house at 1am to go get her some Pepto Bismol. She didn’t start to recover until she vomited this afternoon.

    The service was decent, but the food was terrible. Definitely recommend Gloria’s or Mi Cocina. Will never go back.

  19. David 12/11/2008 at 12:45 pm #

    Oh, and I forgot to add that the margaritas were awful. Could barely taste any tequila at all.

  20. donnaaries 12/18/2008 at 9:15 am #

    Los Cucos gets a 1 star review from DMN, ouch! http://www.guidelive.com/portal/page?_pageid=33,97400&_dad=portal&_schema=PORTAL&item_id=69323

    It seems that a month after opening, the restaurant crew is still not used to the crowds. I haven’t been back since my initial visit, and might wait some more before trying to return.

  21. Trish and Roland 12/20/2008 at 12:26 am #

    AWFUL – Service, 2nd time there! Sorry we came back – first time we went it was before the grand opening and the service and food was way better — service was crap tonight – spoke to manager and Bryan could not be bothered – swore it wont happen again — hosts were warm and valets were charming — but i dont go to restaurants for hosts and valets I go for food and a time off from cooking and cleaning — i would have done better with home cooked spam fried rice – will there be a next?— who knows — I’ll keep watching this string

Leave a Reply

