A Rare Treat, and a Sad Good-Bye

11 Sep

I’m sitting in my cube eating a Doughmonkey snickerdoodle cookie, still lukewarm from the oven it was baked in.  It’s light, buttery, just the right amount of sweet with a fairy dusting of cinnamon.  This is a rare treat for me, as I don’t live or work near the bakery and usually enjoy their treats only on Saturdays.  But upon reading news that Doughmonkey will be closing next week, my better half made the trip down to Snider Plaza today for one last dozen of cookies and rushed them to my office in a futile effort to better my mood.

My last snickerdoodle…

There’s been too many closures in the Dallas food industry this year, but none have hit home quite like this one.  It’s going to take more than a dozen cookies to sooth me over.  I’m trying not to be bitter, but it’s hard when shops like Doughmonkey, operated by people who truly believe in the quality of their ingredients, craftsmanship, and products (so much so that they discard unsold items DAILY), go down and trend-centric places like Sprinkles and even worse, NoKa, continue to thrive and expand.

One last bite, and a sad good-bye.

10 Responses to “A Rare Treat, and a Sad Good-Bye”

  1. Lisa 09/11/2008 at 4:30 pm #

    Amen, sister. Believe it or not, the owners are my neighbors, and I can attest to their long hours and dedication (if the light on at 4:30 a.m. day after day is any indication). I am so sad to hear of the closing, but I have no doubt that the talented duo will turn up again soon.

  2. Margie 09/11/2008 at 6:03 pm #

    I sure hope they turn up again soon. I certainly haven’t had enough of that place!

  3. foodczar 09/12/2008 at 9:55 am #

    My story is sadder still…..I never got to go there. It just goes to show….if you want to try a place, try it TODAY. It may not be there tomorrow!

  4. Scott 09/12/2008 at 10:40 am #

    They’re not closed yet, FoodCzar. You can still try it today, tomorrow, Tuesday of next week, and maybe even farther out.

  5. luniz 09/12/2008 at 12:55 pm #

    i’m gonna make my last run saturday afternoon czar, so i recommend you wait until after then 😉

    what really sucks is that this place which is unique not to mention all the other adjectives already used, yet there are stupid $50 “comfort food” or “gastropub” places popping up like a freaking rash so they can serve up more of the same old same old mediocre food.

    i never even tried the snickerdoodle cookie yet. not to mention half the other things they sell. too bad that i have to maintain weight or i would have been down there even more, but i will have one last blowout guilt free and then swear off sweets until thanksgiving.

  6. donnaaries 09/12/2008 at 1:53 pm #

    I will be there tomorrow morning buying too many pastries to bring to a dinner party. Inevitably people at the dinner party will be asking, “this is so awesome, where did you get it?” And I’ll have to report the sad news…

  7. michelle 09/14/2008 at 7:15 pm #

    so sad 😦

    they will be missed!!!

  8. luniz 09/15/2008 at 12:23 pm #

    apparently people were lined up saturday morning waiting for them to open…where were all these people while doughmonkey was actually open?

  9. diynovice 09/15/2008 at 4:11 pm #

    According to their website this morning (not now, though), their final hurrah will be Tuesday…you better not get there before me 🙂

  10. gavlist 09/15/2008 at 7:01 pm #

    luniz – the line was 4 people. 2 were in my party, and at least a third seemed like another regular customer.

Leave a Reply

