I Heart Shake’s Frozen Custard

4 Aug

You know it’s hot when the temperature is still in the triple digits long after the sun sets.  So instead of a jog around the neighborhood, this is what I’m enjoying instead:

Shake’s strawberry concrete, creamy custard blended with fresh juicy berries.  I’ve been enjoying this treat since high school, having been lucky enough to have a Shake’s location everywhere I’ve lived since then. 

Custard, made with eggs in addition to the ingredients found in regular ice cream, has a much denser consistency than ice cream.  The egg yolk gives the custard a smooth, creamy, thick texture and a kind of rich mouthfeel that regular ice cream just can’t match.  At Shake’s, the custard is made fresh hourly with no added dairy preservatives or injected air.  Shake’s offers just one flavor of custard (vanilla) but you can spice it up with a huge selection of items to blend into the concretes, half a dozen signature sundaes, or have your custard in drinkable form with a shake or malt.  I don’t like a lot of extra stuff on my frozen treats, so I’m always drawn to the strawberry concrete (and blackberry concrete when that’s seasonally available). 

I ordered a mint chocolate chip custard cake from Shake’s for a friend’s birthday earlier this year, and it’s probably the only “ice cream” cake I’ve ever enjoyed.  Devoid of any crunchy iciness in the actual cake layers (a problem that exists in all other ice cream cakes I’ve tried), the creamy, not too sweet custard gave the layers of chocolate cake just the right amount of rich moisture.  And of course, the cake was a hit at the birthday dinner.

I wanted to give Shake’s a nod since there are a lot of mentions about Sheridan’s (a chain that opened 7 years later than Shake’s) and Wild About Harry’s (local Dallas joint),  but somehow Shake’s has gone mostly unnoticed in the mainstream media.  Local residents have definitely discovered it though, the drive-through line usually has a few cars lined up waiting for their Shake’s frozen treat.

Shake’s Frozen Custard
1004 E. Hebron Pkwy
Carrollton, TX 75010

5 Responses to “I Heart Shake’s Frozen Custard”

  1. foodczar 08/04/2008 at 10:06 am #

    Donna, thank you once again for taking the time to journey on the road less traveled. I’m always amazed to see a place like Shakes, with cars lined up for business, and discover that not only had I never dined there, I didn’t even know the place existed, while as you suggest, Sheridan’s and Harry’s are getting all the ink. Thanks again!

  2. Hayley 08/04/2008 at 9:24 pm #

    Did you ever have Shake’s when you were in College Station. The look of your cup leads me to believe they are the same company. Oh man, they rival Dairy Queen’s blizzard yumminess ( yes, I did just mention DQ being good on a foodie blog!!!)

  3. Hayley 08/04/2008 at 9:26 pm #

    Ignore that – I clearly did not read thoroughly enough.

  4. donnaaries 08/04/2008 at 9:58 pm #

    Totally guilty, my apartment was within walking distance to the College Station Shake’s. Oh man.

  5. CBiscuit 02/11/2009 at 3:03 pm #

    Shake’s has chocolate custard, too, not just vanilla!

Leave a Reply

