Roast Chicken Sandwich with Brie and Nectarines & Arugula and Grapefruit Salad

24 Jun

Without a doubt, summer is my favorite season.  Longer daylight allows more productivity, Sonic promotes half price drinks during their afternoon happy hour, and the fruit selection!  Oh the fruits of summer.

Chicken Sandwich with Brie and Nectarines

It’s a deli sandwich with a fruity spin held together by creamy chunks of brie.

good bread (I used wheat bollilos)
sliced roast chicken breast from the deli (Boar’s Head makes a decent version.  Roast turkey will work, too)
honey mustard
brie, softened (let it sit out from the fridge for 10 minutes, or microwave for 1 minute if necessary)
ripe nectarine, sliced

Assemble sandwich: Spread bread with honey mustard, top with chicken, a few spoonfuls of brie, and a few slices of nectarines.  Top with other bread piece and enjoy!

Arugula and Grapefruit Salad

I started making my own arugula and citrus salads after an initial introduction to the combination at The Tasting Room at Lola.  My version is much simpler, perfect for instant gratification.  This salad is best when blood oranges are in season (it’s more of a winter fruit), as in the version below with radicchio added:

But any citrus will do, just adjust the sweetness of the honey dressing accordingly.  For this summer meal, I used perennially available tart grapefruit, and made a dressing with a higher honey-to-olive oil ratio.  Chopped walnuts also makes a great topping to this salad (but I didn’t have any on hand this time around).

arugula (feel free to throw in additional leafy salad veggies that you like, e.g. radicchio)
citrus fruit cut into bite sized pieces
1 tbsp honey
3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp lemon juice
pinch of salt and pepper

Whisk together last 4 ingredients to make dressing, using more honey when citrus is more tart and less honey if citrus is more sweet.  Toss with arugula and citrus to make salad.  Top with walnuts or sliced almonds (optional).

 

3 Responses to “Roast Chicken Sandwich with Brie and Nectarines & Arugula and Grapefruit Salad”

  1. Deacon-Frost 06/24/2008 at 3:46 pm #

    I think.. yes I think I NEED brie now.
    I havent had any in so long and now im craving it.

    Thanks for another trip to the grocery store, hahahaha

  2. Margie 06/24/2008 at 6:40 pm #

    That looks so tasty! I never think of using fruit in salads or with savory flavors. I love it when it’s served to me. I just don’t usually use it myself. Time to start some re-thinking in the kitchen.

  3. michelle 06/28/2008 at 1:06 am #

    i love brie and fruit sandwiches! one of my favorites is at the meridian room in fair park. brie, green apple, turkey, and spicy mustard. deeeeelicious 🙂

    thanks for sharing yours!

Leave a Reply

