Donna Cooks Gets a New Look

12 Nov

As much as I liked the old layout, the sidebar always looked cluttered.  So I’m giving this new layout a try.  Let me know what you think!  Specifically, I’m looking for input on what features/tools/options you’d like to see added to the blog.  Is it too difficult to navigate right now?  Does the order of the items on the sidebar make sense?  How can I make this blog easier to read and navigate?

8 Responses to “Donna Cooks Gets a New Look”

  1. foodczar 11/12/2007 at 11:38 am #

    LOVE the new layout, Donna. Hmmm! You seem to have been inspired to this move by viewing the Blog Award nominees. I think that a really sharp look like this one was the only thing keeping your blog from getting nominated. I just wish there was a way you could click on one of the Recent Comments and go right to the discussion. Otherwise, everything is great!!!

  2. donnaaries 11/12/2007 at 1:59 pm #

    Czar, thanks for the input. This ready-made layout looks like it will be an intermediate solution until I get some better graphics and a cleaner, more customized design working, which will require me to improve my web design skills.

    In the mean time, you should be able to access the comment discussion directly from the “Recent Comments” section by clicking on the title of the post. For example, to access this discussion directly, click on “Donna Cooks Gets a New Look” under “Recent Comments” => foodczar on “Donna Gets a New Look”.

  3. Bob 11/12/2007 at 11:12 pm #

    I love the new design! Keep up the good work!

  4. webra 11/13/2007 at 4:36 pm #

    Congratulations for the new listing on D Magazine!

    I’m looking forward to seeing your blog evolve. 😉

  5. donnaaries 11/13/2007 at 5:00 pm #

    Thanks Webra, I’m excited to see that I might be gaining some new readership 🙂

    And thanks michaela0416 for the nod!

  6. michaela0416 11/13/2007 at 6:49 pm #

    You’re very welcome, Donna. So, how do I locate some of your past reviews without scrolling through the reviews archive? I couldn’t figure out to get to them through the nifty map or the search engine, but then again I’ve never been all that handy with navigating the internets. Thanks.

  7. donnaaries 11/13/2007 at 10:34 pm #

    Right now, the only way to search the archives are by

    1) Search function at the top of the sidebar: enter in part of or full name of the restaurant and try your luck.

    2) Click on any markers on the sidebar map to bring up the full size map. Once the full size map is loaded, click on either the name of the restaurant on the “List of Places” or click on a map marker, that will bring up the details on a specific restaurant. Click on “website” link under the restaurant name and that will take you to the Donna Cooks review.

    Now that I’ve had to write out the directions, I realize that a simpler indexing/archive search tool is needed, like a page with all the restaurants listed with links to their reviews. I will work on that soon.

  8. michaela0416 11/14/2007 at 11:23 am #

    Your directions for the sidebar map worked for me, thanks! I do look forward to a simpler indexing set up in the near future.

Leave a Reply

