Donna Goes Crazy with Produce (Vegetable Stir Fry)

6 Sep

Recently, I had one of those crazy weekends when none of my planned meals materialized.  We were out longer than we expected the entire weekend and ended up eating out the whole time.  Sunday evening rolled around and I stared at my overflowing vegetable bin with despair, they would all go bad soon.  I did the only thing I could to save the situation, throw all the veggies in a giant stir fry and serve them with steamed brown rice.

picture-017.jpg

There are lots of veggies you can use for this, but I’ll give the recipe based on what I had in the fridge at the time.

1/2 pound shiitake mushrooms, thinly sliced
10-12 stems asparagus, woody ends trimmed and cut into bite sized pieces
1 cup matchstick carrots
1/2 pound snow peas
1 cup bean sprouts
3 tbsp sesame oil
1 tsp powdered ginger
1 tbsp minced garlic
1 tsp dried red pepper flakes (optional, only if you want the heat)
1 tsp corn starch
1/2 tbsp soy sauce
1/2 tbsp black bean sauce
1/2 cup vegetable broth

In a large skillet or wok, heat sesame oil over medium-high heat.  Add in garlic, crushed red pepper, and ginger and stir fry until garlic starts to brown on edges.  Add in shiitake mushrooms, asparagus, and 1/4 cup vegetable broth and stir fry 2-3 minutes or until mushrooms start to get tender.  Add in remaining veggies (carrots, snow peas, and bean sprouts) and remaining 1/4 cup vegetable broth and stir fry for about 3-4 more minutes. 

In the mean time, combine soy sauce, black bean sauce, and corn starch in a small bowl and mix well until thickened.  Pour thickened soy sauce mixture into the pan with the veggies and stir fry 1-2 more minutes, or until veggies are evenly coated with the sauce.

Serve over steamed brown rice.

Serves 4.

2 Responses to “Donna Goes Crazy with Produce (Vegetable Stir Fry)”

  1. luniz 09/10/2007 at 10:10 am #

    Well I am curious as to your opinion on how I would cook something like this: with peanut oil instead of sesame, because it can get hotter without smoking. I would have either used the sesame oil in the sauce, or after stir frying, would have reduced the heat and cooked an extra minute or two in some added sesame oil. Anything wrong with my way?

  2. donnaaries 09/10/2007 at 12:53 pm #

    Good point luniz, I wasn’t even thinking about peanut oil or canola oil. For veggies like broccoli (or even snow peas), a hotter wok would make the product more crisp. I think in this case I was just trying to emphasize the taste of the sesame oil while trying to cut down on the amount of grease. There’s nothing wrong with your method. In fact, it would probably do better with crisp greens. But I’ll say this, my recipe requires one less ingredient 😛 Hehe.

Leave a Reply

