Satisfying a Tex-Mex Fix in the Suburbs (Angelina’s Mexican Restaurant)

9 Aug

In order to get a better feel for my new neighborhood, I’ve been doing a little chow down in the suburbs nearby.  Most of the “explorations” are hardly worth mentioning, though I did manage to find a few “second visit”-worthy restaurants, including Stan’s in The Colony for basic bar grub and Angelina’s in Lewisville for Tex-Mex (not to be confused with the Angelina’s in The Colony, which is actually next to Stan’s.) 

I pulled up to Angelina’s expecting disappointment.  With a parking lot full of yuppified SUVs with car seats in tow (then again, minus the car seats, who am I to judge?), I was sure this was going to be another bland, overly greasy Tex-Mex beating I would regret.

Angelina’s salsa and chips changed my mind.  The chips were crisp but near greaseless to the touch and the salsa was fiery, not at all bland like I had feared.  Angelina’s menu is quite diverse, with all of your Tex-Mex standards plus a whole page of house specialties.  I ordered the Mexican Lasagna and my companion ordered the Ranchero Chicken.

img_2624.jpg

I admit, I ordered this dish in an attempt to find some fault with Angelina’s.  A name like Mexican Lasagna brings up horrendous memories of school cafeteria food, Sloppy Joe Casserole style.  But the multi-layered creation with refried beans, shredded chicken, and cheese (oh man was there a lot of cheese) between soft tortillas covered in a swirl of red and green sauces was actually quite delicious.  It reminds me of one of those mom recipes where the ingredients are simple and the dish is easy to make, but the resulting casserole dish is something amazing that only mom could whip up to warm the soul on a rainy day.  Oh and look at all the fresh slices of avocado that came on the plate!  I was in an avocado induced euphoria!  Though the casserole was extra cheesey, it didn’t feel greasy. 

img_2625.jpg

My partner’s dish was just simple tender grilled chicken strips in a spicy ranchero sauce.  The sauce was a bit too dense and too salty.  It was hard to eat the chicken strips by themselves.  They fared much better wrapped up in a tortilla with beans and rice.  See the side of steamed squash and zucchini on the plate?  Another pleasant surprise you don’t typically find in a Tex-Mex joint.

Angelina’s serves up some pretty decent Tex-Mex for an average price.  The service is very friendly and the decor not too shabby.  Next time I return I will definitely order the chicken tortilla soup, as I could hardly take my eye off of the neighboring table’s thick, extra cheesey soup with plenty of fresh avocado pieces.

Rating: 3 / 5

Angelina’s Mexican Restaurant
1396 West Main St.
Lewisville, TX 75067

Leave a Reply

