A Real Philly Experience at Billadelphia’s

2 Jul

I am not from Philadelphia.  I have never even been to Philadelphia.  But a little thread on Chowhound provoked me to chase down this supposedly authentic, amazing cheesesteak right here in DFW at Billadelphia’s.  Having never had an authentic Philly cheesesteak and thus not fully understanding the enthusiasm for them, driving to Bedford for a sandwich seemed silly.  But when I found out that Billadelphia’s opened a second location in Arlington less than two miles from UTA campus (where I was taking an all-day class on Friday with a lunch break), I knew that was my opportunity to indulge.

The Arlington location of Billadelphia’s is located in a typical Arlington strip mall right across the street from the future Cowboys Stadium. 

img_2613.jpg

If that “open” sign reminds you of anything, you’ll soon realize where that familiarity comes from as soon as you walk through the door.  Billadelphia’s in Arlington is a converted Quizno’s, complete with the green and red pendent lamps, green and red stools, pepper/hot sauce bar, etc.  In fact, it’s only along the south side wall that the Philly flavor comes through in the form of Eagles paraphernalia. That wall is lined with booths, each with its own 13″ TV on some sporting event. 

The menu is comprised of cheesesteaks in several variations (original, chicken, pizza steak, etc), other hot sandwiches, and something called Panzarotti, which is apparently an inside out pizza popular in Philadelphia.  The description of it sounds a lot like a calzone.  I was intrigued.  But this being my first visit, I stuck to the basics, a 10″ Philly cheesesteak ($6.75).

img_2612.jpg

Before I start talking about this enormous sandwich, I need to put in a disclaimer.  I am no cheesesteak expert.  The only cheesesteak I’ve had outside of cafeteria fare was from Texadelphia.  Though greasy Texadelphia cheesesteaks were great hangover cures in college, even a cheesesteak stranger like me could smell something fishy with the slogan “the original Texas cheesesteak.”

With that being said, this petite girl ate her entire 10″ greasy cheesesteak sandwich because it was melt in your mouth tender, flavorful, and juicy.  The cheese wasn’t just piled on top but rather mixed in well with the tender, finely chopped steak.  It was a lot of food, and I did feel a bit nauseous afterwards, but I’m almost certain the post-lunch comatose state I experienced for a couple of hours was worth it.  Billadelphia’s slogan is “we’ll make ya’ll into yo!”  Well I’m not sure about that, but I will certainly be back, perhaps even with other ya’ll-sayers.

Other Philly specialties like scrapple sandwiches, soft pretzels, TastyKakes, and Goldenberg’s Peanuts are also available at Billadelphia’s.

If you’re not convinced by this cheesesteak stranger, then just go try Billadelphia’s yourself.  I, for one, am on the bandwagon with all the Philly-native turned DFW residents on this one.

Rating: 4 / 5 

Billadelphia’s
1112 N. Collins St
Arlington, TX 76011

7 Responses to “A Real Philly Experience at Billadelphia’s”

  1. abe 07/03/2007 at 4:02 pm #

    Donna,
    I would love for you to try a Jersey Mike’s cheesesteak and compare the two. If Billadelphia’s is an authentic cheesesteak…then I would have to say New Jersey does it better…

  2. Kelly 07/06/2007 at 4:32 pm #

    Donna, glad you enjoyed it. They do it up right, mixing in the cheese with the steak.
    If you felt grease-laden and sluggish for the next few hours, then you got a good cheesesteak! 😉
    There’s a good reason Bill set up right across from the new Cowboys stadium. It’s a personal Eagles/Cowboys rivalry thing, and on top of that, Philly folks will make the trip down here for games…and now they can get a steak.

  3. Bruce 07/30/2007 at 10:01 am #

    Donna,
    Do yourself a favor and go back to try the Panazrotti which could be described as a deep fried calzone. These originated in Camden, NJ by way of an Italian immigrant family circa 1960.
    Be careful though. Wait a minute after being served before biting in…if cooked properly, the insides are molten fresh out of the fryer but incredibly delicious.

  4. donnaaries 09/13/2007 at 3:40 pm #

    Some recent reports on Chowhound indicate that Billadelphia’s may be headed downhill. I haven’t revisited since these reports, but I wanted to give a heads up.

  5. Frank 03/20/2009 at 11:54 am #

    Billadelphia’s is not the best Philly Cheesesteak in town. You need to look up Fred’s Downtown Philly

  6. Philly Bri 07/14/2009 at 9:35 pm #

    Fred’s has been going downhill lately. More grease, less meat. Rolls aren’t near as good as they used to be. I’d choose Billadelphia’s any day if it wasn’t so far away. BONUS — The first Rita’s in Texas opened right around the corner!

  7. Jaqueline Cooper 02/01/2010 at 9:17 pm #

    Hello. Great job, if I wasn’t so busy with my school work I read your full site. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

