I’m Still Alive… and Loving Muscat Grape Season

25 Mar

I haven’t posted in over two weeks, but I’m still alive and well!  A spring break trip to England and Scotland for 9 days spanned most of that time (look for related food travelogues coming soon!), and I’ve spent the rest catching up on errands, work, and school work.

I did manage to make it to Central Market to see what kinds of exciting produce is available this season (after 9 days of eating cream, butter, and gravy heavy foods, I was like a child in a candy store with the wide variety of fresh locally grown produce at Central Market).  My excitement peaked when I turned the corner from tomatoes and potatoes to fruits.  It’s muscat grape season, folks.

muscat.jpg

I first discovered the joy of the muscat grape last year when a trip to Central Market introduced me to these tiny bursts of delightful, slightly tart, sweetness.  What makes this grape so different from a regular white grape?  It’s smaller, sweeter, thinner skinned, and wine aficionados will immediately recognize the familiar flavor found in muscat based dessert wines and the sparkling Moscato d’Asti.

I will probably finish the 2 1/2 pound bag in less than a week 🙂

One Response to “I’m Still Alive… and Loving Muscat Grape Season”

  1. Druidic Slave 05/20/2009 at 7:51 am #

    Don’t eat to much of that at once. ;p

Leave a Reply

