Simple and Satisfying: Miso Soup

3 Feb

I love the miso soup at Japanese restaurants.  For some reason, I never learned how to make it at home and always just bought the ready-mix, just add water stuff.  It never occurred to me that making real miso soup with miso paste is almost as easy as the ready-mix stuff.  Well, I made “real” miso soup Friday night, and I am not going back to the ready-mix stuff, ever.

This recipe takes about 5 minutes (8 minutes including prep work) and it’s such a great side dish to an Asian themed meal or just as a hot cup of comfort on a cold day.

Miso Soup

img_2015.JPG

4 shiitake mushrooms, sliced
2-14 oz cans vegetable broth
4 tbsp miso paste (found in the refrigerated section)
4 oz of hard tofu, cut into large slices

Bring the broth to boil in a large saucepan.  Stir in the miso paste and mushrooms, lower and heat and simmer for about 3-4 minutes, until mushrooms are tender.  Add in tofu slices and simmer another 2 minutes.  Optional: sprinkle with fresh slices of green onion for garnish (clearly I skipped this step this time).

Serves 4

See, I told you it was easy.

3 Responses to “Simple and Satisfying: Miso Soup”

  1. G Travis 02/20/2007 at 2:12 am #

    I’ve only made miso soup with the traditional fish stock (tired and can’t remember the name of it right now). I’m curious about your use of the veggie broth. Did it change the flavor at all?

  2. donnaaries 02/20/2007 at 10:36 am #

    By “real” miso soup, I didn’t mean to imply authentic miso soup (which is made with traditional dashi stock). I just meant I’ve grown up a little from the instant powder stuff. I guess you can call this the westernized version of miso soup. I have to say I enjoyed the flavor with vegetable broth because it was very clean. I tried making this same recipe with chicken broth but hated it. Can you purchase readily packaged fish broth? I’ll have to give that a try sometime.

  3. G Travis 02/20/2007 at 11:11 am #

    I found powdered dashi packets at Carrollton Plaza Supermarket. That is the closest thing I have found . You just add water according to the directions, and continue on with the recipe from there.

    I was curious about the vegetable broth because my mother doesn’t like the taste of dashi. Also, a friend of mine has decided to go vegan and this would be a great recipe for her to have (giving up the miso soup was hard for her). It does sound very refreshing. I’ll try it out this evening.

    Thanks for sharing this recipe!

Leave a Reply

