New Favorite: Jasmine Thai

3 Feb

There are lot of Thai restaurants in Dallas.  If you add up the sushi restaurants and Thai places, I think they would outnumber fast food joints, at least in north Dallas and some of the northern suburbs.  I’ve had decent to good Thai food at a lot of these restaurants, but none that stood out enough to warrant a second visit.  I usually just move on and try the next Thai place since there are so many of them.  But this past Thursday night, I think I may have found a favorite for Thai that I will definitely be revisiting.

I first heard about Jasmine Thai through a post on Chowhound (surprise, surprise).  The perfect opportunity to try out Jasmine Thai came when a Toastmasters training session was scheduled at Spring Creek and Custer, right across the street from the shopping center where Jasmine Thai is situated (coincidentally, also the home of Noka, the most expensive chocolate in the world, whose scam of a business was recently exposed on DallasFood.org).

The restaurant was empty at 9:00pm on this Thursday night (they close at 10:00).  The small seating area was decorated in earth tones with all sorts of Thai accents (wood carvings, screens, even the tables and chairs).  We ordered right away as not to prolong our stay and keep the employees there longer than necessary.  We decided on one standard Thai dish, the basil chicken, and one more exciting specialty, the bataba.

Basil chicken:

img_2013.JPG

Freshness, that’s what made this basil chicken stand out from all the other basil chicken dishes in town.  Tender slices of chicken with strips of bamboo shoots, baby corn, mushrooms, onion, and lots of fresh basil leaves all in a sweet but very spicy brown sauce.  This is possibly the best basil chicken I’ve had anywhere.  But the more exciting dish of the night was definitely the bataba.

Bataba:

img_2014.JPG

The bataba is like a Thai gyro, fluffy flakey crepe-ish wrap (similar to the texture of a Chinese green onion pancake) with marinated chicken, onions, carrots, and bell pepper in a mild curry-like sauce inside.  I had never had anything like this at a Thai restaurant before, but I certainly enjoyed it. 

We were only able to stay for a short time since we arrived so late, but I know I will be back to try Jasmine Thai again with such exceptional dishes on my first visit.  Service was also incredibly friendly seeing as how we were the jerks who came late on a weekday evening.  Even though Jasmine Thai is rather far north, I really think it’s worth the drive from just about anywhere near Dallas.

Rating: 5 / 5

Jasmine Thai
2050 W. Spring Creek Pkwy
Plano, TX 75023

7 Responses to “New Favorite: Jasmine Thai”

  1. Scott 02/06/2007 at 2:58 pm #

    Donna,

    Glad you enjoyed it! Just so you know, they have a Thai-language menu there that has little overlap with the English menu. Assuming there’s not a crowd there, the waitresses are usually happy to walk through it with you and explain the options. Don’t take too seriously their concerns about whether a dish might be “too authentic” for you. So far, everything I’ve had off the Thai menu has been good to great.

    Be sure to try the Thai herbal chicken appetizer, next time you visit. Whenever I order carry-out, there’s usually little left of that by the time I get home.

    Scott

  2. donnaaries 07/01/2007 at 4:42 pm #

    Went to Jasmine again last night, really enjoyed the pad see ew.

  3. tovorinok 07/05/2007 at 4:15 am #

    Hello

    Great book. I just want to say what a fantastic thing you are doing! Good luck!

    G’night

  4. govokinolij 07/13/2007 at 2:57 am #

    Hello

    Looks good! Very useful, good stuff. Good resources here. Thanks much!

    G’night

  5. tolikimer 08/22/2007 at 9:29 am #

    Hello

    So interesting site, thanks!

    Bye

  6. sopitikoj 09/08/2007 at 11:05 am #

    Hi all!

    I like your site

    Bye

  7. Soulslinger 07/16/2008 at 3:06 pm #

    Well you knew I would have to throw in my two cents about Jasmine!

    First I will have to definitely check out Scott’s rec. Thai menu….dang should have known

    My wife and I love this place and the people. Waiters are always very friendly probably b/c we aren’t nit picky and actually like spicy foods!!

    On a recent visit we went in and someone was asking for everything without spice and they even ordered a dish with Spicy in front of it and then took out all the spice. I just don’t get some people.

    As for off the menu items that we have had is a whole steamed snapper (I think it was from either NJ or Chernobyl) this fish was huge. We asked for it with ginger, thai basil and garlic. They acommodated and it was awesome. Need to bring about 2 other hungry folks b/c we couldn’t finish it.

    Jungle Curry is on the menu….asking for it with extra spice is not. They acommodated and it was some of the hottest curry I have had in a very long while but so good.

    I second the rec sof the Thai Herbal Chicken that Scott touted and the bataba you recommended.

    I have had the Shrimp in a Blanket appetizer and there was no sheets or PJ under that blanket. Was just shrimp rolled in a spring roll wrapper and fried with the common sweet and sour sauce at Thai places. I would skip this one on the appetizer list.

    I will have to explore the menu further especially on the Thai menu!

Leave a Reply

