Budget Korean Lunch at Jin Mi

30 Jan

Jin Mi in east Plano was publicized on Chowhound by a regular a while ago and continues to receive raves for its traditional Korean cuisine.  Again, I emphasize that I’m no expert on Korean food having only had Korean food twice before Jin Mi (Naan in the Shops at Legacy and Korean Garden in the May Hua Supermarket complex).  I was picking up my car from an oil change when I saw the sign for Jin Mi and remembered the Chowhound raves.  I drove up and saw a poster advertising the beef bulgogi lunch special for $4.99.  10 minutes later, I had 2 to-go boxes to take back to my cube.

img_1988.JPG

Even at a mere $4.99, the lunch came with 6 different banchan: sweetened potato, seaweed, bean sprouts, broccoli, and 2 kinds of kimchi.  All of the banchan tasted fresh, though the kimchi was toned down in terms of spiciness.  The beef was tender, well seasoned, and juicy, a perfect topping for the white rice!

I knew I’d have to come back to try other dishes.  The next Friday, I met up with a friend for a workday lunch at Jin Mi.  Like me, he is also inexperienced in Korean cuisine and wanted to try something new.  I ordered the spicy grilled chicken (Dak-gui? $5.99) and my companion the spicy grilled pork ($6.99).

Chicken:

img_1996.JPG

Pork:

img_1997.JPG

As you can see, the presentation in the bento box is a lot more appealing than the styrofoam to-go container.  There were also 9 different types of banchan this time (including 3 different kinds of kimchi).  Both the chicken and the pork was cooked in a mildly sweet and spicy sauce (not on the beef bulgogi last week) and both the meats were tender and moist.  Definitely worth the $6 or $7.

I will be back to Jin Mi to try something more adventurous than grilled meats on rice.  But even from just 2 visits to this simple restaurant, I would recommend it for people curious about Korean cuisine. 

Service is friendly and language hasn’t been a barrier thus far (always a plus, no awkward pointing!)  Jin Mi stays busy for weekday lunches due to the size of its small dining room and the great lunch special deals.  But don’t fret, service is fast and the food is piping hot and fresh.

Rating: 4 / 5

Jin Mi
2727 W. 15th St.
Plano, TX 75075

One Response to “Budget Korean Lunch at Jin Mi”

  1. donnaaries 07/26/2007 at 2:20 pm #

    Went back and had the seafood pancake a week ago. Greasy but very very yummy!

Leave a Reply

