All the Rage for Chaparrito’s Tex-Mex

31 Dec

I usually find all my local food insights on food-oriented message boards like Chowhound.  However, there has been a ridiculously long thread dedicated to a Tex-Mex restaurant on TexAgs with endless praise, even borderline obsession.  With all this rage about Chaparrito’s Tex-Mex, I had to taste it for myself.  And last night, while shopping in the Galleria area, I finally did.

Chaparrito’s is definitely a hole-in-the-wall joint.  It sits in a the middle of rather unsightly shopping center on the southwest corner of Alpha and Montfort behind an Arby’s.  If you weren’t looking for this place, you’d definitely miss it with the generic white lettering on green awning along with all the other businesses in the strip mall (barber shop, nail salon, taqueria, the sorts).

I was under the impression the restaurant was open until 10:00pm on Saturdays (according to GuideLive).  So we walked up to the restaurant at 8:45pm, only to reach the door seeing an empty restaurant, then realizing the sign says they close at 9:00pm on Saturdays.  I started to walk away not wanting to be a jerk to the restaurant employees who probably wanted to go home, but a woman at the cash register started waving at us and walking towards the door.  “It’s ok, come on in,” she said.

Upon seating at a booth table we were quickly presented with our glasses of water and chips and salsa.  The salsa is spicy!  It was chunky with lots of onion and pepper (habanero perhaps?)  I sucked down two glasses of water trying to cool my mouth from the fiery salsa.  I ordered the enchilada verdes and my companion the chicken flautas. 

Enchilada verdes:

chap-enchiladas.JPG

The salsa verde on the enchiladas was much more intense than I am used to (lots of tomatillo and chunky texture).  It took a couple of bites to get accustomed to the tangy, sharp taste of the sauce.  The chicken inside the corn tortillas was tender, moist, shredded perfection.  Rice and beans were above average, but nothing to go crazy for.  I ate so fast (trying to get out of the restaurant ASAP since we were already there past their posted hours) that I got full quickly and could not finish the plate.  Oops.

Chicken flautas

chap-flautas.JPG

The chicken flautas were piping hot perfection, especially with a little guacamole and sour cream.  The shredded chicken was moist and flavorful like inside the enchiladas, and the corn tortillas were fried to a crisp perfection without being too greasy. 

I had intended on ordering the sopapillas for dessert since that seems to be all the rage on the TexAgs thread, but I felt too guilty about being at the restaurant so late that we skipped out on dessert.  But the restaurant is promising with great service and good value (around $8 for each plate), I will definitely be back to try the highly-touted quesadillas and sopapillas.

Rating: 3 / 5

Chaparrito’s Tex-Mex
13531 Montfort Dr
Dallas, TX 75240

6 Responses to “All the Rage for Chaparrito’s Tex-Mex”

  1. donnaaries 02/04/2007 at 10:56 pm #

    Revisited El Chaparrito today for the sake of trying out the sopapillas. The salsa was spicy greatness again (they should sell this stuff by itself as takeout!) We tried beef fajita quesadillas and the carne asada. The quesadillas were a standout with greaseless tortilla with tender beef strips, onion, bell pepper, and cheese inside (a bit unusual with the veggies). Carne asada was a pretty standard rendition.

    Oh but those sopapillas… they’re not what you would expect.
    They’re flaky and fluffy, not flat and hard like normal ones. It’s different, but in a way that makes you want to come back and try it again.

  2. skrangeo 02/05/2007 at 8:21 am #

    I’m a big fan of El Chaparittos. This is a true mom & pop operation that caters to satisfying their customers both in service and in quality of food for very reasonable prices.

  3. Macks 03/14/2007 at 3:01 pm #

    For once in his life, skrangeo did a good thing by suggesting this restaurant.

  4. Belinda 02/07/2009 at 11:21 am #

    “***TURN AROUND AND RUN**** I just recently went to eat at this so called “Great Restaurant” with my sister and my niece…Not only was the food disgusting but the customer service is non exsistent, And considering the food tastes like s**t and customer service is awful but worse – prices are too expensive for salty beans! My sister and niece are new to dallas and this was there 1st Mexican owned restaurant and it was embarrassing Beware! – Dont ever question the food because you’ll get an old man in your face yelling “so what the h**l am i suppose to do with this food!” -Dont even dream of getting a refill …there idea of serving drinks are only ONE canned drink per customer. Yeah! There Crazy! *********YOU’LL WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY AT THIS PLACE********* “

    • Angela 02/04/2010 at 11:14 am #

      ****THAT LADY IS OUTTA HER MIND!!!!**** So…. About 2 years ago, I went to Dallas to visit a friend I have not seen since my Jr. High days. We did the usual catching up, laughing, remembering “The Days” (LoL) and decided to go to the Galleria. We saw Chaparritos and decided to stop and eat. Oh Myyyy Gosh!!!… Was Soo Yummy, reminded me of my Mom’s, soothing loving meals she would make us growing up! 🙂 The service??!!! VERY Friendly people!!! The genuinely seemed to want to make sure we had a good dining experience, :)!! They may be a lil short staffed, BUT, for what employees they do have, the wait is reasonable. I have been in bigger staffed places and waited MUCH Longer. Here I am today, 2 YEARS later, in Austin, Texas, making plans to go back and see my friend. So what did I think of?? CHAPARRITOS!!!!!! Ohhh Yeeeeeah!! Has To Be On The Agenda!!!! Thank You Chaparritos!!! Thank You For The YUMMY Home Cooked Tex-Mex!!!!

  5. Rosemary 03/16/2011 at 9:09 pm #

    I agree, Belinda is nuts!!! Must not know good food if it bit her in the….. Anyways I live north of Mckinney and I make the drive all the way there once a week (about an hour and half) The food and service rock! Haven’t had that good of Mexican food north of the Mexican border. Not just Tex-Mex but real Mexican food!

    Ps Please open a location in the north Dallas area even Plano would be great!

Leave a Reply

