Salsa to the Rescue (Southwestern Black Bean and Corn Salsa)

21 Dec

It was 10:30pm the night before the office holiday potluck. I was finally home after a 2-hour flight delay at the end of my 8-day adventure in the eastern Yucatan peninsula (culinary experiences to be discussed soon). At a time like this, even my fall back buttermilk pie is just too much work when I had a mountainous pile of laundry to get through and lots of unpacking ahead. Then I remembered an “almost as easy as picking up something from the Kroger deli” recipe from a Christmas party I attended a couple of weeks ago from my friend Jeanne, southwestern black bean and corn salsa. Voila! I was done preparing my holiday potluck contribution in 3 minutes with 5 ingredients. And my co-workers will have a healthy option when presented with a whole spread of holiday goodies.

tostitos.JPG

Southwestern Black Bean and Corn Salsa

15 oz can black beans, drained
15 oz can white corn, drained
10 oz can diced tomatoes with green chiles (Rotel), do not drain
Juice of 1 lime
A handful of chopped fresh cilantro

Combine all ingredients in medium bowl. Refrigerate at least 2 hours before serving.

I think Tostitos Scoops are the best chips for this salsa because it is so chunky. This salsa could also be used as a relish for grilled or blackened fish (maybe seasoned with garlic and lime? Mmm… I’ll have to try that soon).

Leave a Reply

