If I Was a Vegetarian (Salad with Lemon-Honey Vinaigrette and Penne Ricotta)

25 Aug

My old roommie from college was in town on business and had a special request for dinner, “something like a salad.”  I love my veggies so this was an easy enough request.  First up was a simple salad with lemon-honey vinaigrette.  I had an interesting mix of veggies/fruits in my fridge but you can pretty much throw in anything (what another friend calls an “end of the week” salad).  I used baby spinach leaves, asparagus tips (drizzle with olive oil and garlic salt, bake in 400 degree oven for 3 to 4 minutes, you want the aspagarus to soak in the flavor but remain a little crunchy), cherry tomatoes, and Granny Smith apple wedges.  I like my salads consistent in color with a little contrast, so this case, various shades of green with a touch of red.  The lemon-honey vinaigrette (in the individual saucers) is simple but good on almost any salad.

salad.jpg

Lemon-Honey Vinaigrette

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Combine ingredients and add salt and pepper until desired taste.  So easy but so good!

I can’t eat a meal without carbs, it just doesn’t feel right.  So second up was the penne ricotta, it’s like grown up mac and cheese.  I took the photo while it was still in the mixing bowl so it looks a bit messy.

penne-ricotta.jpg

Penne Ricotta

  • 1/2 lb penne pasta, cooked al dente and drained
  • 1/2 cup ricotta (I used part-skim to skip some calories)
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan reggiano
  • 1 tbsp butter or margarine
  • a dozen fresh basil leaves (tear larger ones into smaller bite sized pieces)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Combine ricotta, parmesan reggiano, and butter in large mixing bowl.  Toss with warm cooked and drained pasta.  Add salt and pepper to desired taste.  Mix in basil leaves.

If I was a vegetarian, this would be the the kind of light summer meal I would eat all the time.

One Response to “If I Was a Vegetarian (Salad with Lemon-Honey Vinaigrette and Penne Ricotta)”

  1. Melissa 08/28/2006 at 12:38 am #

    Thanks again for inviting me to dinner Thursday night! It was really nice to see you and catch up…as much as one can in three hours! 🙂 Hopefully that won’t have been my last business trip to the Dallas area. Take care and see you soon!

Leave a Reply

