A Mess in My Kitchen for This! (Tiramisu Cake)

21 Aug

A friend from college came to town for the week, so I decided to do a mini reunion with a few other friends from the area (we were all involved in the same organization in college).  I wanted a dessert that would impress, and found a recipe for tiramisu cake that I thought for sure would do the trick.  I was ok with the recipe being more complicated than what I usually prefer since I had time to make the desert the night before.

After a giant mess in my kitchen (I’m a clean freak, I really hate making a mess) and using practically every container that could be considered a bowl, this was the end product:

tiramisu-cake.jpg

Honestly, after dealing with stickiness, goo, flakes, and sugar sprinkles everywhere, I think regular tiramisu may have been the better way.  But the cake does have great visual appeal.  If you don’t mind a bit of a cleanup, here’s the recipe:

Tiramisu Cake

  1.  
    • 1 18.25 oz box yellow cake mix, prepared according to directions in two 8″ cake pans, and completely cooled
    • 4 eggs yolks (no egg white)
    • 1/3 cup plus 1 tbsp powdered sugar, divided
    • 1/3 cup sweet marsala wine
    • 1/2 cup chilled heavy whipping cream
    • 1 tsp vanilla extract
    • 16 oz mascarpone cheese
    • 1/2 cup cold espresso (or strong coffee)
    • 1/2 cup grated dark chocolate, divided into 2
    • 1 pkg ladyfinger cookies

In small bowl, combine egg yolks and 1/3 cup powdered sugar and beat with electric mixer until creamy smooth and pale yellow.  Whisk in marsala.

In another small bowl, beat heavy cream until frothy.  Add vanilla and remaining tbsp of powdered sugar and continue mixing until mixture holds a soft peak.

Place mascarpone in large bowl, then fold in yolk-and-sugar mixture until completely incorporated.  Then gently fold in freshly whipped cream.

Place one 8″ cake on serving plate.  Brush with 1/4 cup espresso/coffee.  Spread 1/3 of whipped cream mixture over that and top with 1/4 cup grated chocolate.  Layer the other 8″ cake on top of this.  Repeat same process on this layer.  Use remaining 1/3 cup of whipped cream mixture on the sides, then arrange ladyfinger cookies all around the cake, gently pressing in so that they stand upright around the cake’s perimeter (I had to break my ladyfingers into two since they were especially skinny and tall, I actually liked the randomness of this look).

Refrigerate for at least 8 hours prior to serving.

Serves 12

Note: I couldn’t find sweet marsala wine at my local Kroger but found it at Central Market, a Texas chain gourmet grocer.  I’ve heard from another friend who attempted regular tiramisu that ladyfinger cookies and mascarpone cheese can be hard to find at regular grocery stores.  I don’t like to drive too far for ingredients, so hopefully you’re close to a store that stocks these items.

Note to Self:  Donna, your $2 IKEA grater sucks.  Quit being such a cheapskate and get a normal one.

3 Responses to “A Mess in My Kitchen for This! (Tiramisu Cake)”

  1. Triallie 08/21/2006 at 9:41 am #

    Oh man, this looks good!

  2. Donna 08/21/2006 at 10:36 am #

    I hope it tastes good! We’ll find out tonight 🙂 It’s Becky who’s coming to visit, did you ever have classes with her?

  3. Hui Wu 08/21/2006 at 10:48 am #

    It looks so good. I am so proud of you. cooking is in your genes, I guess.

Leave a Reply

