Onion Jam

4 Jun

I spent Memorial Day weekend in New Orleans indulging in food whenever I could find room in my stomach. One bite stuck out in my memory through the eating marathon, the sweet onion jam on top of seared chicken rillette with bacon broth at Chef Donald Link’s Herbsaint restaurant. I couldn’t believe how easy it is to make this stuff after Googling several recipes for onion jam on the internet. A lovely enhancement to a cheese plate, pizza (particularly paired with a strong cheese), burger, or even just spread on some toast, I definitely see this little condiment becoming a regular in my fridge. The best part? You can make this jam many ways with different types of onions and vinegars depending on what you have available. The variety of possibilities makes it even more exciting!

Onion Jam

1 medium onion, halved and sliced thinly (I used a sweet onion variety)
2 tbsp unsalted butter
2 tbsp sugar
a pinch of salt
1/4 cup white wine
1 tbsp vinegar (I used a sherry vinegar)

  • Melt butter in a medium sized saucepan over medium-low heat.
  • Add in onions, salt, and sugar, and let the onions “sweat” for 20 minutes, covering the saucepan with a lid and stirring occasionally to make sure onions cook evenly.
  • Uncover, increase heat to medium-high, and add in wine and vinegar, stirring and cooking until liquid evaporates and onions are caramelized to a golden brown color, about 15-20 minutes.
  • Let cool and store in an airtight container in the fridge.

I initially meant to make this jam for a pizza with smoked mozzarella, but one bite of this good stuff on some crusty French bread made me realize that I couldn’t wait. So my pizza became a cheese plate for lunch garnished with the onion jam :)

One Response to “Onion Jam”

  1. Stefsgastronomy 10/31/2012 at 11:25 pm #

    This does sound simple and delicious!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

