Now Broadcasting from Central Texas

15 Sep

I moved!  I now reside in the same zipcode as this inexplicable piece of pop art/lawn junk. 

Yes, I live in Austin, surrounded by Texas’ best (and arguably the world’s greatest) pit smoked BBQ, food trailer mania, Tex-Mex-topia, lack-of-great-Asian-cuisinia, and all that is weird about Central Texas.  I’ve only been a resident for a month, and my taste buds are already diligently at work analyzing delectables like smoky brisket from Snow’s BBQ in Lexington and Opie’s BBQ in Spicewood, tender and flavorful barbacoa tacos from Taco More, indulgent eggs benedict with braised pork belly from Fabi and Rosi’s Sunday brunch, strangely textured yet surprisingly flavorful Philly seitan sandwich from vegetarian cart Counter Culture, comforting green chile macaroni from Moonshine Patio Bar and Grill, etc, etc.  It hasn’t all been a foodie paradise, though.  Disappointing bowls of pho and bibimbap from restaurants highly touted by locals present weak spots in Austin’s gastronomy scene.  Will I eat myself into a BBQ coma or finally find a plate of pad kee mow worth repeating?  Stay tuned to find out.

It’s been a great run, Dallas, and I hope to be back often to visit (and keep updated with the food scene).

3 Responses to “Now Broadcasting from Central Texas”

  1. Shane 09/16/2010 at 6:07 am #

    That is an awesome car! I especially love the life sized head on the roof. It makes it look like that car has a sunroof. Anyway I was the first to sign your Austin portion of your blog. That is just like the high school days. I have to admit that nothing can be worse than the Chinese/Vietnamese in OKC so Austin has a leg up there.

  2. Rob 09/16/2010 at 7:23 am #

    I feel your pain – having just moved here from Dallas in June. However there are some good Chinese options – check out Din Ho and of course Chinatown for dim sum – Chinatown fills a gap I always found in Dallas and has a great bar. I’ve had no luck finding malay, good thai or any exceptional vietnamese (although I think there are lots of average pho experiences). there is an indonesian place on Oltorf called Java Noodle House which I tried out – buffet on weekends – I’m going back to order off the menu.

    enjoy austin!

  3. JEM 09/20/2010 at 12:08 pm #

    Jealous! Woukd love to live in the Austin/Hill Country area instead of just visiting any chance I get. Best wishes to you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

