Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Acorn Squash and Carrots

20 Nov

Being in Nutrition and Menu Planning  class really has changed the way I look at my meals.  I’m not so much a low fat low calorie kind of gal, but I do think more about the nutrient density of my food.  One of the biggest changes I’m trying to make to my diet is eating more fiber (and I don’t mean adding a dissolvable powder to my drinks).

Luckily, it’s fall and I’m a huge fan of squash, a great source of fiber.  This pork tenderloin with acorn squash and carrots is an adaptation of the Martha Stewart Everyday Day Food original.  In my version, I use tenderloin instead of a whole pork loin because it’s slightly leaner (and because I’m only feeding two, not a whole family).  I also added carrots for added color and fiber (and because I had some extra carrots laying around).

Serves 2 to 3

3 tbsp olive oil
3 tbsp brown sugar
1 tsp ancho chile powder or regular chile powder
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1 medium sized acorn squash, seeded and sliced into 1 inch thick wedges
2 medium sized carrots, quartered lengthwise then sliced in half
1 pork tenderloin (about 1 to 1 1/2 lbs) generously seasoned with salt and pepper (I actually used jerk seasoning because it went well with the flavors of the dish)

Preheat oven to 425.  In a small bowl, stir together 2 tbsp olive oil, brown sugar, chile powder, cinnamon, cumin, and 1 tbsp water.  Place sliced squash and carrots in a gallon sized ziplock bag, add in marinade, close the bag, and shake and toss to coat squash and carrots with marinade.

Heat remaining 1 tbsp of olive oil in a cast iron (or other heavy) Dutch oven over high heat.  Brown pork tenderloin on all sides, about 10 minutes total.

Arrange squash and carrots around pork in Dutch oven, brushing the tenderloin with the remaining marinade in the ziplock bag.  Bake until pork is cooked through, 20 to 25 minutes, turning tenderloin halfway through and brushing the new topside with marinade.

Remove tenderloin to a cutting board and let rest 5 minutes before slicing.

2 Responses to “Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Acorn Squash and Carrots”

  1. Kate 11/20/2009 at 9:10 pm #

    It’s too bad Adam doesn’t like squash because I’d be all over this recipe if he did.

  2. erica 10/30/2012 at 4:53 pm #

    Fantastic recipe – we had this for dinner tonight and loved it. I added a few garlic cloves and used more carrots than called for in the recipe, and did a quick deglazing of the pan with 1/2 cup apple juice after browning the pork. This meal had a wonderful, complex flavor – slightly sweet, savory and a bit of spicy kick. I will definitely make this again and thank you for sharing. It was a perfect fall dish and would be easy and impressive to serve for company, but is so simple, it makes a great weeknight dinner, too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

