Red Road Vineyard & Winery (Naples, Texas)

26 Oct

On a recent trip to Arkansas, we took a short detour off of IH 30 and found a pleasant stop at Red Road Vineyard & Winery in Naples, Texas. 

Located just south of the railroad tracks parallel to Main Street (US 67), Red Road Vineyard & Winery officially opened in December 2007 by father-daughter owners Bradley and Merrill Grove.  Red Road Vineyard grows Cynthiana, Lenoir, and Blanc du Bois grapes (all Pierce’s Disease resistant varietals) on its grounds and imports additional varietals from other vineyards in Texas.  Despite being northern California natives, the winemaker has chosen Gaelic names for the majority of Red Road’s wines to celebrate the family’s Scottish roots.

Though Red Road is new to the Texas wine scene, the winery is already producing over a dozen wines.  The focus seems to be on blending wines for food pairing.  Some favorites from this trip’s visit include the Riesling style Solas, a fruity crisp white with a floral bouquet that is a sure match for a meal at a BYOB Thai place, the Chardonnay blend Sedoga with oaky overtones and apple and melon flavors that would match perfectly with a seafood chowder, a crisp but not too acidic Texas Chenin Blanc, and a well balanced Texas Merlot with soft plum flavors that would be perfect with that roast duck from First Chinese BBQ.  Also sampled was the not yet released Cabernet Sauvignon, which started out chocolately smooth with berry flavors and ended with a nice slow burn at the back of the throat.  Hope I get a chance to return when that Cab is bottled and labeled!

Red Road wines are not yet available at any DFW package stores but are available at select stores in east Texas (Pittsburg, Tyler, Marshall, etc).  While I look forward to local retailers carrying Red Road selections in the future, the two-hour drive to the tasting room in Naples makes for a lovely day trip from Dallas.

Red Road Vineyard & Winery
105 W Front St
Naples, TX 75568

7 Responses to “Red Road Vineyard & Winery (Naples, Texas)”

  1. Lisa 10/27/2008 at 4:12 pm #

    Sounds like a real discovery! I mean, I’m all about Texas wine, and this winery is news to me. I don’t suppose you brought any bottles back with you…? ;)

  2. donnaaries 10/27/2008 at 4:34 pm #

    I actually did purchase 4 bottles, but 2 of those are history now. Maybe we’ll have to schedule a get together at a BYOB so I can bring one of the two left to share.

  3. Frank 07/30/2009 at 7:14 pm #

    THIS PLACE IS A GEM!
    The owners are helpful, well informed but absolutely down to earth and not “wine snobs” at all.. they enjoyed helping us learn about Texas wines. I purchased a couple of bottles to bring back to Austin,
    I have since been disappointed with Texas wines and so I couldn’t wait to return to tiny Naples & the Red Road Winery; sit and chat about their vineyards, and buy more!

    I’m telling my local retailers in Austin to get on board with this winery.

    • James 08/28/2011 at 9:58 am #

      For good Wine and food and a beautiful setting try Los Pinos Ranch and Winery off of highway 271 just a few miles South of Pittsburg,Tx.

      • James 08/28/2011 at 10:04 am #

        I do want to come to Red Road Winery, I have traveled the United States, and I still find that Texas has some of the finest Wine anywhere, and I love to spend my money with East Texas Folks.

  4. Charles 07/04/2010 at 9:09 am #

    I love Texas Wines and this winery is a hidden treasure! I have tried their wines and I can say that I like ‘em all, just some more than others! It’s a pleasant drive from where I live also….
    I buy these and they do not sit very long before I’m sharing them with friends!
    Nice, helpful folks who are genuine and I feel like they do not want us to leave when we visit. They are a wealth of information about wine and their wines especially.

  5. Mardi 08/22/2010 at 10:23 am #

    This is my favorite all time winery in Texas and I am lucky to live just a short drive away. Everyone there is very pleasant and so willing to help out with wine selections. I really enjoy the opportunity to have a taste before buying and have requests to bring wine, particularly the Las and the Texas Cab with me when I travel to Houston and Austin.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

